A Day In The Life Of My Stomach by Chad Rodgers

Posted: January 18, 2013 by cmrodgers100 in General

Header of Show Me Strength

As the mantra goes, “You can’t outrain a bad diet,” Matt and I here at Show Me Strength, truly take those words to heart. Matt wrote about what he eats on a daily basis here, and in this post, I will show you every meal that I eat over the course of a normal day and the ingredients that bring these delicious and nutritious feasts together.

Whether it be for sport or for life, eating foods that have a positive effect on my health is my number once priority. I treat my body as the high performance vehicle that will carry me through not only my career as a professional athlete, but through the awesome adventures that I plan on having throughout my existence.

If I want to be a strong, powerful, healthy, and happy human being, it’s an obvious choice for me that I not only have to train hard, but I have to eat incredibly well.

Unfortunately today, we don’t live in a healthy society. Obesity, diabetes, and other diseases brought on by poor health choices have only gotten worse. More than ever, food that is convenient, easy to make, and often made from animal byproducts to save on costs have made us fatter and sicker.

Here are some current stats and predictions.

As of right now 37.5 percent of americans have a body mass index (BMI) of 30 or greater. This means that 37.5 percent of United States citizens are obese. Experts predict that this number is on track to reach 50 percent by the year 2030.

These are astounding numbers that mean one thing to a person who wants to be healthy, strong, and capable. It means you must not take the easiest and most traveled route. You must take the way that will forge an unbreakable body, mind, and spirit. One of the biggest pieces to that puzzle is an incredibly nutritious diet.

Here is what I eat on a daily basis to give me the energy, strength, stamina, and health to do all the things I love to my full capabilities.

NOTE- My current weight is 220 lbs at a height of 6’3″. I want to remain at the weight I am at while continuing to get stronger. I am not on a bulking diet. This way of eating has been successful with these personal goals in mind. I recommend taking your own physique, sport, performance, or weight gain/loss goals into consideration before designing any sort of meal plan. This doesn’t, however, stop you from making health conscience food choices.

Testosterone Protocol- In a society where men are gradually becoming less and less manly and more and more soft, I believe it’s important to not only hold on tight to the virtues that make great men manly, but also eat in a way that promotes optimal testosterone (manly) levels. I’ve taken it a step further and started to implement a protocol from Tim Ferriss’ book, The 4-hour body (An uncommon guide to rapid fat loss, incredible sex, and becoming superhuman). With the all natural foods and supplements below paired with a stellar manly diet, I have assured myself from a nutrition standpoint, optimum T levels.

BENEFITS OF OPTIMAL TESTOSTERONE

– healthy brain function

– stronger bones

– increased muscle mass

– decreased fat

– healthy cardiac function

– increased sex drive and sexual performance

– increased energy, confidence, awesomeness

PROTOCOL- 2 organic cage free raw eggs, 3 fish oil capsules, 5000IU vitamin D, 500mg vitamin C, 50mg zinc, 2 brazil nuts for selenium. I have all of this on an empty stomach when I wake up, and then right before I goto bed. I also wash it down with heaping tablespoon of the delicious athletic greens mixed with a full glass of water, which are optimized on an empty stomach first thing after waking.

test. prot

BREAKFAST- 5 cage free whole eggs, a couple cups of cage free egg whites, and mixed veggies all cooked together in a tablespoon of coconut oil.

– No starchy carbs or fruit, just a good amount of protein, healthy fats, and fresh veggies.

pre breakfast ingredientsBreakfast finished with condiments

While cooking I like to add a little bit of garlic, then when on the plate I’ll add guacamole, salsa, turmeric, and salt/pepper

Health Note- The spice turmeric has been shown to reduce inflammation targets in the body among several other positive health benefits. It is also very tasty on meat and eggs.

DURING TRAINING– 13 BCAA Capsules, 5g creatine monohydrate, water

-BCAA’s or branched chained amino acids help to trigger fat loss and help the synthesis of proteins that aid in muscle-building. Creatine has many benefits, but during training it helps my work capacity increase.

bcaabiotest_creatine

POST WORKOUT SHAKE- Coconut milk, vanilla whey/casein protein powder, 5g creatine, berries, rolled oats, almonds, pecans, walnuts, raw pumpkin, greek yogurt, cinnamon, peanut butter, flaxseed, cacao nibs, chia seeds.

-Health note- I will only have oats and fruit in my shake post training, not pre bed. My muscles are depleted of glycogen and glucose at this point and can use the carbohydrates/fructose.

shake ingredients Magic Bullet shake

LUNCH- 2 free range chicken breasts marinated in balsamic vinaigrette, garlic, and turmeric with sides of brown rice and mixed steamed veggies.

– Since this meal will be within the hour after training, I add some carbohydrates in with the rice. This will help the muscle rebuilding process after a strenuous workout. I’m also getting plenty of protein with the chicken as well as key vitamins and minerals with the veggies.

Lunch Steamed rice veg chick pre lunch marinade

DINNER- This recipe, made famous by our friend, and precision nutrition expert, Brian St. Pierre, is mind-bogglingly delicious and incredibly dense in muscle-building nutrients. The recipe below is with the measurements I use for a week’s worth of chili.

For dinner I’ll have a huge bowl of this along with a glass of Pino Noir.

5 pounds of grass feed ground beef, 2 onions, 2 green peppers, 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 2 cans of tomato sauce, 1 can of light red kidney beans, 1 can of dark red kidney beans, 1 can of garbanzo beans, 1 can of black beans, 1 small can of minced garlic, 3 tablespoons of turmeric, 3 tablespoons of chili powder, 3 tablespoons of pepper.

Dinner Chili

PRE BED SHAKE- Almond milk, vanilla whey/casein protein powder, almonds, pecans, walnuts, raw pumpkin, greek yogurt, cinnamon, peanut butter, flaxseed, cacao nibs, chia seeds.

– The only differences between this one and my post workout shake are the base (almond milk vs coconut milk) and the absence of berries and oats.

TESTOSTERONE PROTOCOL- 2 organic cage free raw eggs, 3 fish oil capsules, 5000IU vitamin D, 500mg vitamin C, 50mg zinc, 2 brazil nuts for selenium. I have all of this with a heaping tablespoon of athletic greens in water.

eat like a chamipion

As you can see, I don’t really f*** around. I want to be strong. I want to be healthy. I want to have energy. I want to look great with my clothes on and with my clothes off. I want to perform on the field and in life. To me if I work hard in the gym, on the field, and in the kitchen, all of these wants of mine will be fulfilled.

This is a typical day in the life of my stomach. I mix it up with other recipes often, but this is a normal day of eating for me. Consuming amazingly healthy foods as you can see can also be super delicious. It just takes a little creativity and preparation to design a meal schedule like this one that will allow you to fire on all your cylinders all the time.

I hope you enjoyed this post and found it helpful. Leave a comment or questions below and follow us here. Like us here.

*As always, please consult your physician or other nutrition health professional before modifying your diet. We offer these posts to share our own successful experiences through our own experimentation; however, we do not yet have our medical or nutritional certifications.

Comments
  1. […] Running, Part 2: From “Learning” to “Running” A Day In The Life Of My Stomach by Chad Rodgers Losing Your Hair? Eat These Foods! Getting Started with Mobility: The Low Hanging […]

  2. […] A Day in the Life of My Stomach by Chad Rodgers […]

  3. […] A Day In The Life of My Stomach […]

  4. Josh Heenan says:

    Chad,

    Great piece. Funny how many of our meals are almost identical. I recently wrote a piece for my athlete’s you may enjoy. http://www.joshheenan.com/why-all-baseball-players-should-be-using-creatine/

  5. I love this, thanks for sharing a real life example of a body building diet. That postwork out shake with the magic bullet looks fantastic. I will definitely have to try it out.

  6. […] A Day In The Life of My Stomach […]

Leave a Reply

