Monday Mental Musing- Motivational Quotes and Tweets

Posted: January 30, 2012 by showmestrength in General, Mental Game, Training
Tags: , , , ,

As you can tell if you follow the twitter feed @showmestrength (and if you aren’t, follow along here!)- I’m a big fan of the motivational quotes and tweets.  I like to keep an ever-growing list of quotes on my phone that I can refer to whenever I need that pick-me up or just for that important daily reminder.

“The more you sweat in peace, the less you bleed in war.” -US General George S. Patton

I actually started keeping a list of quotes during my rookie season while with the Rome Braves (Low-A) team.  I had just received a call up (after two catchers were injured in the same inning, forcing me to take a 6 am flight the next morning from Orlando to Rome, GA, via Atlanta to start that night) and noticed that the tunnel walls going from the locker room to the dugout were covered in quotes.  I wrote all of them down and since then that list has grown considerably.

“If there is no control of the mind, there can be no control of how the body reacts.” -Dalai Llama

Where is the best place to find motivational quotes? I tend to find my favorite quotes through movies, books I read (or listen to), phone apps, and recently twitter.  My favorite phone app is called “55k Quotes” and you can search quotes by author, category, keyword, or let it give you random quotes.  Their motto is “One good quote is worth a book” and honestly sometimes I think that can be true.  Twitter has become my favorite source as of late and there are a couple of great twitter feeds which seem to often produce gems.  My favorites that I follow are @think2win, @Sports_Greats, @AncientProverbs, but there are no doubt thousands of others out there.

My favorite quote today is:
“People ask, ‘What do you do in the winter?’ I stare out the window and wait for spring.” -Rogers Hornsby

Please share some of your favorite quotes below! Happy quote hunting!

Leave a Reply

