Monday (Thursday) Mental Musing- Find a Motivational Training Environment

Posted: December 1, 2011 by showmestrength in General, Mental Game, Training
Tags: , , , , ,

When I was back home training for the week of Thanksgiving, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit “off” in my training. Not that my lifts were that much different (albeit, I lacked the chains and some equipment that I otherwise would utilize) but what I quickly realized was missing was the training environment which is so prominent at Cressey Performance. It really makes me appreciate the importance of a motivational training environment, to give you that extra intensity.

It’s not that I necessarily need the environment- I like to consider myself a very self-motivated person especially when it comes to taking care of my training and offseason- but it’s a bit distracting to train when this is going on around you:


And no, I’m sad to say I’m not kidding. I actually saw someone hook themselves up to these ski-boot like contraptions in order to hang themselves upside down from the pull up bars. I could go into all of the anatomical reasons why not to perform an exercise like this (the excessive lumbar flexion, amongst other things) but REALLY? REALLY? C’MON MAN!

But I digress, while I do appreciate the effort that these mis-guided people go thorough to get themselves even into the gym, there really is only so much watching people turn themselves into train-wrecks before I gouge my eyes out. Having a supportive training environment is KEY and more and more baseball players are turing to these group training environments. Why? Because they see the teamwork, camaraderie, and attitude that along with the correct programming guidance, helps motivate RESULTS. It’s no coincidence that 40+ minor leaguers want to spend their off-seasons training in the often snow-bound Hudson, MA.

While I’ve been thinking about this topic for a while, fittingly just this week an article was published on MLB.com-

Players Turning to Group Offseason Workouts.

It speaks about Athletes’ Performance, Cressey Performance, and if you look closely you might see someone you recognize getting some pre-workout stretching performed!

Also, check out these posts which show how the training environment is a key component to getting RESULTS!

Mistakes Skinny Guys Make: Training Environment by Tony Gentilcore


And of course, I’d be remiss not to mention the importance of having a gym mascot, Tank Cressey, who often leads the way in exercises and warmup, when he’s not napping.

Comments
  1. Judy K. says:

    Hey – that’s my gym you’re dissing! Big dudes like you leave a lot of drip marks (but sure look nice!) Off to workout . . .

Leave a Reply

